Do we need to apologize for being female & feminine?

I don’t know about you ladies, but this is a subject that troubles me now and then.  See, I was a tomboy for many many years, until I was 20 or so, and had never realized this.  I had never realized how society makes you apologize for being feminine.

I am a woman who works hard, in a very competitive field.  I am just as good as most of my male colleagues.  Yet I notice, that to be respected the same, I need to hide the fact that I am female, and a female that likes to embrace her femininity.

So, please, explain these to me:

Why can a man flaunt his beard, a purely masculine characteristic, while I have to hide any hint of breasts, which is a purely feminine characteristic?

Why can men get all excited about sports (which in psychology is actually considered a fixation on immature behavior) but women can’t talk about nail polish & lipgloss without getting weird what-a-bimbo looks?

Why is a man with a ridiculously expensive car considered successful, while a pair of Louboutins are vain?

Why can a man read about sports everyday and be damn proud of it, but I should “fail to mention” the fact that I read beauty blogs?

Why is it, that in order to be taken seriously and be judged equally, I have to constantly hide the fact that I am feminine?

Forgive me gentlemen, but I have yet to read a study that proves that having facial hair makes you intelligent, and wearing lipstick makes you stupid.

Korres Eyeliner Pencil

I like Korres.  I really do.  Are you on to me yet?

There are products by Korres I don’t like, and I might do a review on them, just so you don’t think I’m full of baloney, but for now…  Here is another Korres product I enjoy using almost everyday.

This is the Eyeliner Long-lasting Cedar wood Pencil in Black. It’s my go to product for daytime because it has the perfect amount of black for a daytime smokey eye and it smudges beautifully. Also, it lasts a good 2-3 hours on the waterline, and even more my top lashline, even without primer, which is a record for my super oily lids. Is lasts longer if set with eyeshadow.

It comes in a variety of colors, but I haven’t tried the rest.  There is also a softer version, labeled “soft”, that I suspect to be blacker if you prefer that, but I’m too afraid to try it in the summer, in fear that it will end up all over my cheeks.

Korres Eyeliner Pencil

swatch in daylight

Lightly smudged around the eye, No primer, No mascara, No eyeshadow

Same as above

What’s your favorite pencil eyeliner?

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 13,654 hits