Do we need to apologize for being female & feminine?

I don’t know about you ladies, but this is a subject that troubles me now and then.  See, I was a tomboy for many many years, until I was 20 or so, and had never realized this.  I had never realized how society makes you apologize for being feminine.

I am a woman who works hard, in a very competitive field.  I am just as good as most of my male colleagues.  Yet I notice, that to be respected the same, I need to hide the fact that I am female, and a female that likes to embrace her femininity.

So, please, explain these to me:

Why can a man flaunt his beard, a purely masculine characteristic, while I have to hide any hint of breasts, which is a purely feminine characteristic?

Why can men get all excited about sports (which in psychology is actually considered a fixation on immature behavior) but women can’t talk about nail polish & lipgloss without getting weird what-a-bimbo looks?

Why is a man with a ridiculously expensive car considered successful, while a pair of Louboutins are vain?

Why can a man read about sports everyday and be damn proud of it, but I should “fail to mention” the fact that I read beauty blogs?

Why is it, that in order to be taken seriously and be judged equally, I have to constantly hide the fact that I am feminine?

Forgive me gentlemen, but I have yet to read a study that proves that having facial hair makes you intelligent, and wearing lipstick makes you stupid.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 12:19:01

    Very good points. I worked in a very chauvinistic industry (advertising) and you had to roll with the jokes or were branded a spoilsport!

    Reply

    • thehouseofy
      Jun 09, 2011 @ 12:34:21

      Yes, we have to put up with the jokes, but make a joke about how stupid it is when sweaty men run around after a round thing, while many other men are beating each other up in pubs about it, and they look at you like you ‘re Satan.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 13,556 hits
